Audio & Video

Revolution on the farm
Knowledge

Revolution on the farm

The CRISPR/Cas method will revolutionise parts of plant breeding. The technology is urgently needed to address the challenges facing agriculture in this century and threatening our security of supply.

Content in German

Sustainable food from the bioreactor
Knowledge

Sustainable food from the bioreactor

Feed more people and waste less raw materials – we are achieving this goal thanks to "sustainability from the laboratory," Tilo Hühn is convinced. Together with a team of 80 at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW), the food architect is researching sustainable nutrition solutions.

New breeding methods – here to stay
Knowledge

New breeding methods – here to stay

The Swiss Parliament has decided to update the genetic engineering moratorium that has been in place since 2005. The step was overdue. On the occasion of a webinar organized by swiss-food.ch, experts from science and agriculture spoke about the benefits of new biotechnological breeding methods. It became clear: the risks are low, the opportunities are great.

Swiss-Food Talks

“Natural does not always mean sustainable”
Knowledge

“Natural does not always mean sustainable”

We are reliant on optimized foodstuffs in order to supply the planet’s growing population with healthy, sustainably produced food. However, consumers often view these as “artificial”, and thus “unnatural” – and “natural” is the preferred choice. Of our everyday foods, however, very few are of “natural origin”. They have been optimized by humans over the course of time. But are supposedly “natural” products also healthier and more sustainable? Three presenters took an in-depth look at food optimization in this Swiss-Food Talk.

«How to feed the world without starving the planet»

«How to feed the world without starving the planet»

The nutrition of the future should ensure access to the necessary nutrients for all people and be healthy for the planet. That is the goal. However, developing this kind of “planetary health diet” is not so easy. In the Swiss-Food Talk, experts in science and industry discussed what healthy, environmentally friendly nutrition should look like. One thing is clear: Sustainable food must suit the tastes of the people, meet the specific local needs, and must be affordable.

"Patents on Seeds?!"

"Patents on Seeds?!"

Patents create transparency about inventions and enable their further development. For research-intensive Switzerland in particular, patents are a central building block in order to remain a leading location for innovation. At the swiss-food talk on 17 May, three representatives from the fields of research, start-up and industry spoke about the reasons for and significance of patents, particularly in plant breeding.

Challenges and opportunities of sustainable agriculture

Challenges and opportunities of sustainable agriculture

Tomorrow's agriculture must produce more efficiently. And at the same time protect the climate and biodiversity. At the Swiss-Food Talk, three renowned, independent experts spoke about the challenges and opportunities of tomorrow's sustainable agriculture.

Content in German

More contributions from Swiss-Food Talks

Podcasts

The Future of Agriculture and Climate Change
Knowledge

The Future of Agriculture and Climate Change

All around the world, we see and feel the effects of climate change on our lives. While it impacts everyone, agriculture is one of the sectors that is at the forefront of climate change – contributing to greenhouse gas emissions and at the same time coping with growing our food under increasingly challenging conditions. So, how can we address climate change and take action that makes an impact?

From stem cell to steak
Knowledge

From stem cell to steak

Meat production consumes a lot of resources. And for a wide variety of reasons, people are eating less meat or even giving it up entirely. A growing number of companies are therefore looking into alternative methods of producing meat – for example, in a lab.

CO2 reduction with alternative artificial fertiliser
Media

CO2 reduction with alternative artificial fertiliser

The two agrochemical producers Bayer and Syngenta are investing in an American start-up whose technology can massively reduce the use of nitrogen fertiliser.

Content in German

«People don't know what chemistry is»

«People don't know what chemistry is»

People often discuss pesticides and biocides. «Pesticides are chemistry and chemistry is poison», is often said. According to Dominique Werner of scienceindustries, the negative attitude often has to do with ignorance.

Content in German

More contributions from Podcast

Audio & Video

Revolution auf dem Bauernhof
Wissen

Revolution auf dem Bauernhof

Die CRISPR/Cas-Methode wird Teilbereiche der Pflanzenzüchtung revolutionieren. Die Technologie ist dringend nötig, um die Herausforderungen zu bewältigen, die sich der Landwirtschaft in diesem Jahrhundert gegenüberstellen und unsere Versorgungssicherheit gefährden.

Nachhaltiges Essen aus dem Bioreaktor
Wissen

Nachhaltiges Essen aus dem Bioreaktor

Mehr Menschen ernähren und weniger Rohstoffe verschwenden – dieses Ziel erreichen wir dank «Nachhaltigkeit aus dem Labor», ist Tilo Hühn überzeugt. Der Food Architect forscht gemeinsam mit einem 80-köpfigen Team an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW) an nachhaltigen Ernährungslösungen.

Neue Züchtungsmethoden – gekommen, um zu bleiben
Wissen

Neue Züchtungsmethoden – gekommen, um zu bleiben

Das Schweizer Parlament hat eine Aktualisierung des seit 2005 bestehenden Gentech-Moratoriums beschlossen. Der Schritt war überfällig. Anlässlich eines von swiss-food.ch organisierten Talks sprachen Expertinnen und Experten aus Wissenschaft und Landwirtschaft über den Nutzen neuer biotechnologischer Züchtungsmethoden. Dabei wurde klar: die Risiken sind gering, die Chancen gross.

Swiss-Food Talks

«Future Food»: Von der Entwicklung in den Einkaufskorb
Wissen

«Future Food»: Von der Entwicklung in den Einkaufskorb

Proteine gehören zu den wichtigsten Bestandteilen einer gesunden und ausgewogenen Ernährung. Der grösste Teil des von Menschen konsumierten Eiweiss stammt jedoch von Tieren und ist in der Herstellung äusserst ressourcenintensiv. Wie könnten Alternativen aussehen? Und was braucht es, damit alternative Proteinprodukte auch bei den Konsumenten im Einkaufskorb landen? Darüber sprachen drei Referentinnen und Referenten am Swiss-Food Talk.

«Natürlich heisst nicht unbedingt nachhaltig»
Wissen

«Natürlich heisst nicht unbedingt nachhaltig»

Um die wachsende Weltbevölkerung mit gesunder und nachhaltig produzierter Nahrung versorgen zu können, sind wir auf optimierte Lebensmittel angewiesen. Diese werden von Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten jedoch als «künstlich» – und damit «unnatürlich» – wahrgenommen. Und Natürlichkeit wird bevorzugt. Doch sind vermeintlich «natürliche» Produkte auch gesünder und nachhaltiger? Drei Referate gingen am Swiss-Food Talk der Optimierung von Lebensmitteln auf den Grund.

«How to feed the world without starving the planet»

«How to feed the world without starving the planet»

Die Ernährung der Zukunft soll allen Menschen den Zugang zu den nötigen Nährstoffen sichern und gesund für den Planeten sein. Das ist das Ziel. Doch die Entwicklung eines solchen «Menuplans» ist nicht ganz einfach. Im Swiss-Food Talk sprachen Expertinnen und Experten aus Wissenschaft und Industrie darüber, wie eine gesunde und umweltfreundliche Ernährung aussehen muss. Klar ist: Nachhaltige Lebensmittel müssen den Menschen schmecken, auf lokale Bedürfnisse abgestimmt und finanziell erschwinglich sein.

«Patents on Seeds?!»

«Patents on Seeds?!»

Patente schaffen Transparenz über Erfindungen und ermöglichen deren Weiterentwicklung. Gerade für die forschungsintensive Schweiz sind Patente ein zentraler Baustein, um ein führender Innovationsstandort zu bleiben. Am swiss-food Talk vom 17. Mai sprachen drei Vertreter aus den Bereichen Forschung, Start-up und Industrie über die Gründe für und Bedeutung von Patenten, insbesondere in der Pflanzenzucht.

Weitere Beiträge aus Swiss-Food Talks

Podcasts

Die Zukunft von Landwirtschaft und Klimawandel
Wissen

Die Zukunft von Landwirtschaft und Klimawandel

Auf der ganzen Welt sehen und spüren wir die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf unser Leben. Wie können wir also den Klimawandel aufhalten und Massnahmen ergreifen, die wirklich wirken?

Von der Stammzelle zum Steak
Wissen

Von der Stammzelle zum Steak

Die Produktion von Fleisch verbraucht sehr viele Ressourcen. Und Menschen essen aus den unterschiedlichsten Gründen kein oder weniger Fleisch. Eine wachsende Anzahl Unternehmen forscht deshalb an alternativen Fleischprodukten – beispielsweise aus dem Labor.

CO2-Reduktion mit alternativem Kunstdünger
Medien

CO2-Reduktion mit alternativem Kunstdünger

Die beiden Agrarchemieproduzenten Bayer und Syngenta investieren in ein amerikanisches Start-up, mit dessen Technologie der Einsatz von Stickstoffdünger massiv verringert werden kann.

«Die Leute wissen nicht, was Chemie ist»

«Die Leute wissen nicht, was Chemie ist»

Gemäss Dominique Werner von scienceindustries hat die ablehnende Haltung gegen Pestizide mit Unwissen zu tun. «Letztlich ist alles um uns herum Chemie», sagt er im Swiss-Food Podcast.

Weitere Beiträge aus Podcast