Precarious situation for potato farmers
Media

Precarious situation for potato farmers

Potato farmers in Switzerland are sounding the alarm. Due to all the rain, late blight is spreading and destroying their harvest. There is talk of disastrous conditions or a "fateful year" for Swiss potatoes. 300 hectares of potato fields have already had to be abandoned - and more could follow. In the meantime, the federal government has also drawn the first conclusions.

How can biodiversity be protected effectively?
Knowledge

How can biodiversity be protected effectively?

Biodiversity is essential to life. And it is currently a very topical issue. The obligation to set aside areas of Swiss farmland for biodiversity promotion has clearly not achieved the desired objectives. Recently published studies indicate that species diversity remains under pressure. This is what prompted swiss-food, in the latest of its series of talks with three established experts, to focus on the tensions between biodiversity and agriculture and to shed some light on the reasons for these.

Will this field trial revolutionise barley production?
Media

Will this field trial revolutionise barley production?

Switzerland's first field trial using plants from new breeding technologies will start this spring in Zurich. Specifically, the aim is to breed a spring barley that produces more grains per ear. If the trial works, the technology is likely to be of great interest to Swiss agriculture.

«Plant breeding calls for liberal rules»

Jürg Niklaus

Jürg Niklaus

Jürg Niklaus has a doctorate in law and is an advocate of plant breeding.

More pesticides, more genetic engineering: How we are overcoming hunger.

Markus Somm

Markus Somm

Journalist, publicist, publisher and historian

«What plant breeding brings us»

Achim Walter

Achim Walter

Professor of Crop Science, ETH Zurich

Content in German

«The fear of genetically modified plants is unwarranted»

Anke Fossgreen

Anke Fossgreen

Head of Knowledge Team Tamedia

«Politicians must avoid pushing prices up even more»

Babette Sigg Frank

Babette Sigg Frank

President of the Swiss Consumer Forum (KF)

Seizing the opportunity of green biotechnology

Roman Mazzotta

Roman Mazzotta

Country President Syngenta Switzerland

«Sustainability means more»

Hendrik Varnholt

Hendrik Varnholt

Journalist at Lebensmittel Zeitung

«One-third organic farming does not solve the problem»

Olaf Deininger

Olaf Deininger

Development Editor-in-Chief Agrar-Medien

«Plant breeding calls for liberal rules»

Jürg Niklaus

Jürg Niklaus

Jürg Niklaus has a doctorate in law and is an advocate of plant breeding.

More pesticides, more genetic engineering: How we are overcoming hunger.

Markus Somm

Markus Somm

Journalist, publicist, publisher and historian

«What plant breeding brings us»

Achim Walter

Achim Walter

Professor of Crop Science, ETH Zurich

Content in German

«The fear of genetically modified plants is unwarranted»

Anke Fossgreen

Anke Fossgreen

Head of Knowledge Team Tamedia

«Politicians must avoid pushing prices up even more»

Babette Sigg Frank

Babette Sigg Frank

President of the Swiss Consumer Forum (KF)

Seizing the opportunity of green biotechnology

Roman Mazzotta

Roman Mazzotta

Country President Syngenta Switzerland

«Sustainability means more»

Hendrik Varnholt

Hendrik Varnholt

Journalist at Lebensmittel Zeitung

«One-third organic farming does not solve the problem»

Olaf Deininger

Olaf Deininger

Development Editor-in-Chief Agrar-Medien

More opinion pieces

Myths & Facts

swiss-food stands for fact-based information. Important facts are explained here in an understandable way.

To the myths and facts

From the media

Precarious situation for potato farmers
Media

Precarious situation for potato farmers

Potato farmers in Switzerland are sounding the alarm. Due to all the rain, late blight is spreading and destroying their harvest. There is talk of disastrous conditions or a "fateful year" for Swiss potatoes. 300 hectares of potato fields have already had to be abandoned - and more could follow. In the meantime, the federal government has also drawn the first conclusions.

«Organic in this country, banned in the Philippines»
Media

«Organic in this country, banned in the Philippines»

In the Philippines, Greenpeace has obtained a ban on Bt aubergines and golden rice. Incredibly, the same bacteria that the environmental organisation defames as dangerous there is being praised as organic in Switzerland.

«Thousands of children could die»
Media

«Thousands of children could die»

The ban on Golden Rice continues to make waves. More and more scientists are speaking out and denouncing the decision. The talk ranges from "alarming" to "catastrophe" to "dying children".

Clearing house for patent rights: Not in the interests of inventors and food security
Media

Clearing house for patent rights: Not in the interests of inventors and food security

On 22 May 2024, the Federal Council submitted a draft revision of patent law for consultation. A new clearing centre is planned to improve the transparency of patents in the field of plant breeding. While transparency is fundamentally positive, the chosen approach is problematic. Instead of the beneficiaries, it imposes new obligations on innovators and means that Switzerland is going it alone. This is a bad signal for innovative companies.

More contributions from Media

Subscribe to newsletter

To the newsletter archive

Knowledge

How can biodiversity be protected effectively?
Knowledge

How can biodiversity be protected effectively?

Biodiversity is essential to life. And it is currently a very topical issue. The obligation to set aside areas of Swiss farmland for biodiversity promotion has clearly not achieved the desired objectives. Recently published studies indicate that species diversity remains under pressure. This is what prompted swiss-food, in the latest of its series of talks with three established experts, to focus on the tensions between biodiversity and agriculture and to shed some light on the reasons for these.

Why AI has not yet had its breakthrough in agriculture
Knowledge

Why AI has not yet had its breakthrough in agriculture

Artificial intelligence is gaining ground in many areas. However, the new technology does not yet seem to have really arrived in agriculture. The reason for this is nature, which is throwing a spanner in the works of AI. Nevertheless, the opportunities that AI could offer agriculture are immense.

Nutrition: Does the future belong to the green gene scissors?
Knowledge

Nutrition: Does the future belong to the green gene scissors?

New plant varieties contribute to security of supply. The new breeding methods known as "gene scissors", such as Crispr, have the potential to revolutionise agriculture and nutrition.

Regional products are more in demand than ever
Knowledge

Regional products are more in demand than ever

The demand for regional products could hardly be greater. This is shown by a new study by the Zurich School of Business. Consumers even consider regional products to be significantly more sustainable than organic or premium products. To keep up with this trend, it is therefore all the more important to promote modern breeding techniques and plant protection products.

More contributions from Knowledge
Green biotech: safety concerns no longer hold water
New Breeding Technologies

Green biotech: safety concerns no longer hold water

At the end of October, swiss-food.ch hosted a film screening and panel discussion in Zurich on the subject of genome editing entitled “Between Protest and Potential”. The well-attended event dealt with the emotional debates in recent decades surrounding genetic engineering. The event showed that the situation has changed fundamentally.

Read more

Audio & Video

swiss-food has a large selection of exciting videos and podcasts on the topics of food, agriculture and research.

To the podcasts and videos

Politics

In plant breeding the music plays elsewhere
Politics

In plant breeding the music plays elsewhere

Switzerland is a centre of innovation, but unfortunately this promise has not yet been kept when it comes to the more modern methods of plant breeding. Openness would be a good thing for innovative Switzerland here too.

Enabling what is inevitable
Politics

Enabling what is inevitable

The opponents of progress are once again in the starting blocks. In mid-April, critics of genetic engineering announced a popular initiative aimed at making any relaxation of the existing moratorium on genetic engineering impossible. The exact wording is not yet known, but the statements made by the exponents make it clear that the total blockade on modern plant breeding is to be enshrined in the constitution.

EU decision in favour of new breeding methods with stumbling blocks
Politics

EU decision in favour of new breeding methods with stumbling blocks

On 7 February, the EU Parliament voted in favour of approving the new genomic breeding methods in the EU. MEPs voted in favour of a corresponding proposal by 307 votes to 263 with 41 abstentions. Further deliberations will now follow.

Authorisation of new crop protection products:  federal government hesitates, parliament exerts pressure
Politics

Authorisation of new crop protection products: federal government hesitates, parliament exerts pressure

In Switzerland, the authorisation of new crop protection products is stalling. And there is a disturbing asymmetry. The federal government immediately withdraws authorisations for crop protection products that the EU takes off the market.

More contributions from Politics

Blindspot

Blindspot articles are marked with a small spotlight and illuminate the «blind spots» in the agricultural policy debate.

To the Blindspot articles

Research

Using Crispr to combat climate change
Media Research

Using Crispr to combat climate change

In the Tages-Anzeiger newspaper, Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna talks about the opportunities and risks of gene scissors. The tool can be used to specifically treat hereditary diseases, breed drought-tolerant plants and reduce greenhouse gas emis-sions from cows.

Anxious sweat as a cry for help
Media Research

Anxious sweat as a cry for help

Plants live dangerously. They are surrounded by predators. But they are not completely at their mercy. Decades of research have shown this. For example, plants emit odours when attacked. This realisation could lead to new strategies for plant protection. However, it is still uncertain whether this will ever lead to a widely used product.

It pays to take a closer look
Media Research

It pays to take a closer look

Pesticides are to blame for an increase in brain tumours in children in the Zürcher Weinland and the Bernese Seeland, according to a study carried out three years ago. Experts commissioned by the federal government have now come to a different conclusion: the results could also have been accidental.

Global events require adjustments
Research

Global events require adjustments

The Swiss want as much local food as possible on their plates. A desire that is becoming increasingly difficult to fulfil. Farmers are finding it increasingly difficult to protect their harvests. No wonder the level of self-sufficiency is falling.

More contributions from Research

Subscribe to newsletter

To the newsletter archive

Situation précaire pour les cultivateurs de pommes de terre
Actualité

Situation précaire pour les cultivateurs de pommes de terre

Les cultivateurs de pommes de terre en Suisse tirent la sonnette d'alarme. En raison de l'abondance des pluies, le mildiou de la pomme de terre se propage et détruit leur récolte. On parle de situations désastreuses ou d'une « année fatidique » pour les pommes de terre suisses. Déjà 300 ha de champs de pommes de terre ont dû être abandonnés - d'autres pourraient suivre. Entre-temps, la Confédération a elle aussi tiré les premières conséquences.

Comment protéger efficacement la biodiversité ?
Savoir

Comment protéger efficacement la biodiversité ?

La biodiversité est une importante base de la vie. Le sujet est très actuel : l'obligation de délimiter des surfaces de promotion de la biodiversité dans l'agriculture suisse n'a manifestement pas atteint les objectifs visés. Selon des publications récentes, la biodiversité reste sous pression. C'est l'occasion pour swiss-food de mettre l’accent sur la thématique « biodiversité et agriculture » et d'en éclairer les tenants et les aboutissants lors de son habituelle discussion entre experts.

Cet essai en plein champ va-t-il révolutionner la production d'orge ?
Actualité

Cet essai en plein champ va-t-il révolutionner la production d'orge ?

Le premier essai en plein champ de Suisse utilisant des plantes issues de nouvelles technologies de sélection débutera ce printemps à Zurich. Concrètement, il s'agit de cultiver une orge de printemps qui produit plus de grains par épi. Si l'essai fonctionne, cette technologie devrait être d'un grand intérêt pour l'agriculture suisse.

«Des procédures précises nécessitent des règles libérales»

Jürg Niklaus

Jürg Niklaus

Jürg Niklaus est docteur en droit et s'engage pour la sélection végétale.

Plus de pesticides, plus d'OGM : comment vaincre la faim.

Markus Somm

Markus Somm

Journaliste, publiciste, éditeur et historien

«Ce que nous apporte la sélection végétale»

Achim Walter

Achim Walter

Professeur de phytotechnie à l’EPFZ

« La crainte des plantes génétiquement modifiées est infondée »

Anke Fossgreen

Anke Fossgreen

Responsable de l'équipe du savoir Tamedia

« La politique n’a pas le droit de pousser les prix de l’alimentaire encore plus vers le haut »

Babette Sigg Frank

Babette Sigg Frank

Présidente du Schweizerisches Konsumentenforum

Saisir l'opportunité de la biotechnologie verte

Roman Mazzotta

Roman Mazzotta

Président national de Syngenta Suisse

« La durabilité, c’est plus que ça »

Hendrik Varnholt

Hendrik Varnholt

Responsable de la rubrique Industrie chez Lebensmittel Zeitung

« Un tiers de bio ne résout pas le problème »

Olaf Deininger

Olaf Deininger

Rédacteur en chef du développement des médias agricoles

«Des procédures précises nécessitent des règles libérales»

Jürg Niklaus

Jürg Niklaus

Jürg Niklaus est docteur en droit et s'engage pour la sélection végétale.

Plus de pesticides, plus d'OGM : comment vaincre la faim.

Markus Somm

Markus Somm

Journaliste, publiciste, éditeur et historien

«Ce que nous apporte la sélection végétale»

Achim Walter

Achim Walter

Professeur de phytotechnie à l’EPFZ

« La crainte des plantes génétiquement modifiées est infondée »

Anke Fossgreen

Anke Fossgreen

Responsable de l'équipe du savoir Tamedia

« La politique n’a pas le droit de pousser les prix de l’alimentaire encore plus vers le haut »

Babette Sigg Frank

Babette Sigg Frank

Présidente du Schweizerisches Konsumentenforum

Saisir l'opportunité de la biotechnologie verte

Roman Mazzotta

Roman Mazzotta

Président national de Syngenta Suisse

« La durabilité, c’est plus que ça »

Hendrik Varnholt

Hendrik Varnholt

Responsable de la rubrique Industrie chez Lebensmittel Zeitung

« Un tiers de bio ne résout pas le problème »

Olaf Deininger

Olaf Deininger

Rédacteur en chef du développement des médias agricoles

Autres articles d'opinion

Mythes & Faits

swiss-food se veut une plateforme d’information basée sur des faits. Des faits importants y sont expliqués de façon claire et intelligible.

Vers les mythes et faits

Dans les médias

Situation précaire pour les cultivateurs de pommes de terre
Actualité

Situation précaire pour les cultivateurs de pommes de terre

Les cultivateurs de pommes de terre en Suisse tirent la sonnette d'alarme. En raison de l'abondance des pluies, le mildiou de la pomme de terre se propage et détruit leur récolte. On parle de situations désastreuses ou d'une « année fatidique » pour les pommes de terre suisses. Déjà 300 ha de champs de pommes de terre ont dû être abandonnés - d'autres pourraient suivre. Entre-temps, la Confédération a elle aussi tiré les premières conséquences.

«Bio dans notre pays, interdit aux Philippines»
Actualité

«Bio dans notre pays, interdit aux Philippines»

Aux Philippines, Greenpeace a obtenu l'interdiction des aubergines Bt et du Golden Rice. Incroyable : la même bactérie que l'organisation environnementale diffame là-bas comme étant dangereuse est vantée comme étant bio en Suisse.

«Des milliers d'enfants pourraient mourir»
Actualité

«Des milliers d'enfants pourraient mourir»

L'interdiction du Golden Rice continue de faire des vagues. De plus en plus de scientifiques s'expriment et dénoncent cette décision. Ils vont de "alarmant" à "catastrophe" en passant par "des enfants qui meurent".

Chambre de compensation pour les droits de brevet : Pas dans l'intérêt des inventeurs et de la sécurité alimentaire
Actualité

Chambre de compensation pour les droits de brevet : Pas dans l'intérêt des inventeurs et de la sécurité alimentaire

Le 22 mai 2024, le Conseil fédéral a mis en consultation un projet de révision du droit des brevets. Il est prévu de créer une nouvelle chambre de compensation afin d'améliorer la transparence des brevets dans le domaine de la sélection végétale. Si la transparence est en principe positive, l'approche choisie est problématique. Au lieu d'imposer des obligations aux bénéficiaires, elle impose de nouvelles obligations aux innovateurs et signifie que la Suisse fait cavalier seul. C'est un mauvais signal pour les entreprises innovantes.

Autres contributions dans Actualité

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Archives Newsletter

Savoir

Comment protéger efficacement la biodiversité ?
Savoir

Comment protéger efficacement la biodiversité ?

La biodiversité est une importante base de la vie. Le sujet est très actuel : l'obligation de délimiter des surfaces de promotion de la biodiversité dans l'agriculture suisse n'a manifestement pas atteint les objectifs visés. Selon des publications récentes, la biodiversité reste sous pression. C'est l'occasion pour swiss-food de mettre l’accent sur la thématique « biodiversité et agriculture » et d'en éclairer les tenants et les aboutissants lors de son habituelle discussion entre experts.

Pourquoi l'IA n'a pas encore fait sa percée dans l'agriculture
Savoir

Pourquoi l'IA n'a pas encore fait sa percée dans l'agriculture

L'intelligence artificielle a le vent en poupe dans de nombreux domaines. Mais dans l'agriculture, la nouvelle technologie ne semble pas encore être vraiment arrivée. La faute à la nature, qui met des bâtons dans les roues de l'IA. Néanmoins, les opportunités que l'IA pourrait offrir à l'agriculture seraient immenses.

Alimentation: l’avenir appartient-il aux ciseaux génétiques verts?
Savoir

Alimentation: l’avenir appartient-il aux ciseaux génétiques verts?

De nouvelles variétés végétales contribuent à la sécurité de l’approvisionnement. Les nouvelles techniques de sélection végétales connues sous l’appellation de «ciseaux génétiques», tels que Crispr, ont le potentiel de révolutionner l’agriculture et l’alimentation.

Les produits régionaux sont plus demandés que jamais
Savoir

Les produits régionaux sont plus demandés que jamais

La demande en produits régionaux ne pourrait pas être plus grande. C'est ce que montre une nouvelle étude de la Hochschule für Wirtschaft Zürich. Les consommateurs estiment même que les produits régionaux sont nettement plus durables que les produits bio ou premium. Pour répondre à cette tendance, il est donc d'autant plus important de promouvoir les techniques de culture et les produits phytosanitaires modernes.

Autres contributions dans Savoir
Biotechnologie verte : les craintes quant à la sécurité ne font plus recette
Nouvelles techniques de sélection végétale

Biotechnologie verte : les craintes quant à la sécurité ne font plus recette

swiss-food.ch avait convié à une projection de film suivie d’une table ronde sur l’édition génomique à fin octobre à Zurich. Intitulé « Entre protestation et potentiel », l’événement, qui attira un nombreux public, revint sur les discussions passionnées des dernières décennies à propos du génie génétique. La manifestation fut l’occasion de mettre en évidence que la situation a profondément changé.

En plus

Audio & Vidéo

swiss-food propose un grand nombre de vidéos et de podcasts passionnantes sur les thèmes des denrées alimentaires, de l’agriculture et de la recherche.

Vers les podcasts et vidéos

Politique

En matière de culture végétale, la musique se joue ailleurs
Politique

En matière de culture végétale, la musique se joue ailleurs

La Suisse est un lieu d'innovation, mais malheureusement, cette promesse n'est pas tenue à ce jour en ce qui concerne les méthodes plus modernes de culture des plantes. Là aussi, la Suisse innovante aurait tout intérêt à faire preuve d'ouverture.

Rendre possible ce qui est inéluctable
Politique

Rendre possible ce qui est inéluctable

Les opposants au progrès sont une fois de plus dans les starting-blocks. Mi-avril, les détracteurs des OGM ont annoncé le lancement d'une initiative populaire visant à rendre impossible tout assouplissement du moratoire actuel sur les OGM. La formulation exacte n'est pas encore connue, mais les déclarations des représentants montrent clairement que le blocage total en matière de sélection végétale moderne doit être ancré dans la Constitution.

Décision de principe de l'UE pour les nouvelles méthodes de sélection avec des obstacles
Politique

Décision de principe de l'UE pour les nouvelles méthodes de sélection avec des obstacles

Le 7 février, le Parlement européen s'est prononcé en faveur de l'autorisation des nouvelles méthodes de sélection génomique dans l'UE. Les députés ont voté en faveur d'un projet de loi à 307 voix contre 263 et 41 abstentions. Les débats vont maintenant se poursuivre.

Autorisation de nouveaux produits phytosanitaires : La Confédération tergiverse, le Parlement fait pression
Politique

Autorisation de nouveaux produits phytosanitaires : La Confédération tergiverse, le Parlement fait pression

En Suisse, l'autorisation de nouveaux produits phytosanitaires piétine. Et il y a une asymétrie dérangeante. La Confédération retire immédiatement l'autorisation des produits phytosanitaires que l'UE retire du marché.

Autres contributions dans Politique

L'éclairage

Les éclairages sont signalés par un petit projecteur. Ils mettent en lumière les angles morts dans les discussions relatives à la politique agricole.

Vers les éclairages

Recherche

Avec Crispr contre le changement climatique
Actualité Recherche

Avec Crispr contre le changement climatique

Dans le "Tages-Anzeiger", la lauréate du prix Nobel Jennifer Doudna parle des chan-ces et des risques des ciseaux génétiques. Cet outil permet de traiter de manière cib-lée des maladies héréditaires, de cultiver des plantes tolérantes à la sécheresse et de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des vaches.

Sueur d'angoisse comme appel à l'aide
Actualité Recherche

Sueur d'angoisse comme appel à l'aide

Les plantes vivent dangereusement. Elles sont entourées de prédateurs. Mais elles ne sont pas totalement à la merci. C'est ce que montrent des décennies de recherche. En cas d'attaque, les plantes dégagent par exemple des substances odorantes. Cette découverte pourrait conduire à de nouvelles stratégies de protection des plantes. Il n'est toutefois pas encore certain que cela aboutisse un jour à un produit largement utilisé.

Il vaut la peine d'y regarder de plus près
Actualité Recherche

Il vaut la peine d'y regarder de plus près

Les pesticides sont responsables d'une augmentation des tumeurs cérébrales chez les enfants dans le Weinland zurichois et le Seeland bernois, affirmait une étude réalisée il y a trois ans.

Les événements mondiaux exigent des adaptations
Recherche

Les événements mondiaux exigent des adaptations

Les Suisses souhaitent avoir le plus possible d'aliments locaux dans leur assiette. Un souhait qui est de plus en plus difficile à satisfaire. Ainsi, les agriculteurs ont de plus en plus de mal à protéger leurs récoltes. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que le taux d'auto-approvisionnement soit en chute libre.

Autres contributions dans Recherche

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Archives Newsletter