Audio & Video

Revolution on the farm
Knowledge

Revolution on the farm

The CRISPR/Cas method will revolutionise parts of plant breeding. The technology is urgently needed to address the challenges facing agriculture in this century and threatening our security of supply.

Content in German

Sustainable food from the bioreactor
Knowledge

Sustainable food from the bioreactor

Feed more people and waste less raw materials – we are achieving this goal thanks to "sustainability from the laboratory," Tilo Hühn is convinced. Together with a team of 80 at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW), the food architect is researching sustainable nutrition solutions.

New breeding methods – here to stay
Knowledge

New breeding methods – here to stay

The Swiss Parliament has decided to update the genetic engineering moratorium that has been in place since 2005. The step was overdue. On the occasion of a webinar organized by swiss-food.ch, experts from science and agriculture spoke about the benefits of new biotechnological breeding methods. It became clear: the risks are low, the opportunities are great.

Swiss-Food Talks

“Natural does not always mean sustainable”
Knowledge

“Natural does not always mean sustainable”

We are reliant on optimized foodstuffs in order to supply the planet’s growing population with healthy, sustainably produced food. However, consumers often view these as “artificial”, and thus “unnatural” – and “natural” is the preferred choice. Of our everyday foods, however, very few are of “natural origin”. They have been optimized by humans over the course of time. But are supposedly “natural” products also healthier and more sustainable? Three presenters took an in-depth look at food optimization in this Swiss-Food Talk.

«How to feed the world without starving the planet»

«How to feed the world without starving the planet»

The nutrition of the future should ensure access to the necessary nutrients for all people and be healthy for the planet. That is the goal. However, developing this kind of “planetary health diet” is not so easy. In the Swiss-Food Talk, experts in science and industry discussed what healthy, environmentally friendly nutrition should look like. One thing is clear: Sustainable food must suit the tastes of the people, meet the specific local needs, and must be affordable.

"Patents on Seeds?!"

"Patents on Seeds?!"

Patents create transparency about inventions and enable their further development. For research-intensive Switzerland in particular, patents are a central building block in order to remain a leading location for innovation. At the swiss-food talk on 17 May, three representatives from the fields of research, start-up and industry spoke about the reasons for and significance of patents, particularly in plant breeding.

Challenges and opportunities of sustainable agriculture

Challenges and opportunities of sustainable agriculture

Tomorrow's agriculture must produce more efficiently. And at the same time protect the climate and biodiversity. At the Swiss-Food Talk, three renowned, independent experts spoke about the challenges and opportunities of tomorrow's sustainable agriculture.

Content in German

More contributions from Swiss-Food Talks

Podcasts

The Future of Agriculture and Climate Change
Knowledge

The Future of Agriculture and Climate Change

All around the world, we see and feel the effects of climate change on our lives. While it impacts everyone, agriculture is one of the sectors that is at the forefront of climate change – contributing to greenhouse gas emissions and at the same time coping with growing our food under increasingly challenging conditions. So, how can we address climate change and take action that makes an impact?

From stem cell to steak
Knowledge

From stem cell to steak

Meat production consumes a lot of resources. And for a wide variety of reasons, people are eating less meat or even giving it up entirely. A growing number of companies are therefore looking into alternative methods of producing meat – for example, in a lab.

CO2 reduction with alternative artificial fertiliser
Media

CO2 reduction with alternative artificial fertiliser

The two agrochemical producers Bayer and Syngenta are investing in an American start-up whose technology can massively reduce the use of nitrogen fertiliser.

Content in German

«People don't know what chemistry is»

«People don't know what chemistry is»

People often discuss pesticides and biocides. «Pesticides are chemistry and chemistry is poison», is often said. According to Dominique Werner of scienceindustries, the negative attitude often has to do with ignorance.

Content in German

More contributions from Podcast

Audio & Video

Révolution à la ferme
Savoir

Révolution à la ferme

La méthode CRISPR/Cas va révolutionner des pans entiers de la sélection végétale. Elle est plus que bienvenue pour relever les défis qui attendent l’agriculture au cours de ce siècle et qui menacent la sécurité de l’approvisionnement.

Des aliments durables produits en bioréacteur
Savoir

Des aliments durables produits en bioréacteur

Nourrir plus d’êtres humains et gaspiller moins de matières premières. Tilo Hühn en est convaincu: nous pouvons atteindre ce but grâce à des «cultures durables exploitées en laboratoire». En collaboration avec une équipe de quatre-vingt personnes, cet ingénieur en sciences alimentaires développe des aliments durables à la Haute école zurichoise de sciences appliquées (ZHAW).

Les nouvelles méthodes de sélection amenées à durer
Savoir

Les nouvelles méthodes de sélection amenées à durer

Le Parlement suisse s’est prononcé en faveur d’une actualisation du moratoire sur le génie génétique, en vigueur depuis 2005. Cette étape était devenue indispensable. À l’occasion d’un webinaire organisé par swiss-food.ch, des spécialistes des sciences et de l’agriculture se sont exprimés au sujet de l’utilité des nouvelles méthodes de sélection biotechnologiques. Il est apparu que, si les risques sont faibles, les possibilités sont énormes.

Swiss-Food Talks

« Naturel ne veut pas toujours dire durable »
Savoir

« Naturel ne veut pas toujours dire durable »

La population mondiale poursuit sa croissance. Pour pouvoir assurer son approvisionnement en aliments sains et durables, nous avons besoin d’aliments améliorés. Or, les consommateurs les perçoivent comme étant « artificiels », et donc « contre nature ». Et leur préfèrent les naturels. Cependant, parmi les aliments que nous consommons tous les jours, rares sont ceux qui sont « d'origine naturelle ». Ils ont été optimisés par l'homme au fil du temps. Mais les produits prétendument « naturels » sont-ils aussi plus sains et plus durables ? Le point sur les aliments améliorés avec les intervenants du dernier Swiss-Food Talk.

« Comment nourrir le monde sans affamer la planète »

« Comment nourrir le monde sans affamer la planète »

L’alimentation de demain doit permettre à chaque être humain d’accéder aux nutriments nécessaires et doit être saine pour la planète. C’est le but. Mais le développement d’une telle alimentation n’est pas chose aisée. Lors du Swiss-Food Talk, des experts de la science et de l’industrie ont parlé à quoi doit ressembler une alimentation saine et respectueuse de l’environnement. Ils sont sûrs d’une chose: les aliments durables doivent être goûteux, adaptés aux besoins locaux et à la portée de toutes les bourses.

«Des brevets sur les semences?!»

«Des brevets sur les semences?!»

Grâce à la transparence qu’ils créent, les brevets permettent de développer une invention. Pour un pays très axé sur la recherche comme la Suisse, ils sont une pièce maîtresse pour rester dans la course à l’innovation. Lors du swiss-food Talk du 17 mai, trois personnalités issues de la recherche, des start-ups et de l’industrie se sont exprimées sur le bien-fondé et l’importance des brevets, en particulier dans la sélection végétale.

Défis et chances d’une agriculture durable

Défis et chances d’une agriculture durable

L'agriculture de demain doit produire plus efficacement. Tout en protégeant le climat et la biodiversité. Lors du Swiss-Food Talk, trois experts indépendants reconnus se sont exprimés sur les défis et les opportunités d'une agriculture durable de demain.

Contenu en allemand

Autres contributions dans Swiss-Food Talks

Podcasts

L'avenir de l'agriculture et du changement climatique
Savoir

L'avenir de l'agriculture et du changement climatique

Partout dans le monde, nous voyons et ressentons les effets du changement climatique sur nos vies. L'agriculture est l'un des secteurs qui se trouve en première ligne du changement climatique - car elle contribue aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre tout en gérant la culture de nos aliments dans des conditions de plus en plus difficiles. Comment pouvons-nous donc arrêter le changement climatique et prendre des mesures qui soient réellement efficaces ?

De la cellule souche au steak
Savoir

De la cellule souche au steak

La production de viande exige beaucoup de ressources. Pour toutes sortes de raisons, les gens mangent moins de viande ou n’en mangent plus du tout. C’est pourquoi de plus en plus d’entreprises mènent des recherches pour proposer des produits carnés alternatifs, notamment en laboratoire.

Réduction du CO2 avec un engrais artificiel alternatif
Actualité

Réduction du CO2 avec un engrais artificiel alternatif

Les deux producteurs de produits agrochimiques Bayer et Syngenta investissent dans une start-up américaine dont la technologie permet de réduire massivement l'utilisation d'engrais azotés.

Contenu en allemand

«Les gens ne savent pas ce qu'est la chimie»

«Les gens ne savent pas ce qu'est la chimie»

Les produits phytosanitaires et les biocides font souvent l'objet de discussions. «Les pesticides sont des produits chimiques et la chimie est un poison», entend-on alors souvent. Selon Dominique Werner de scienceindustries, cette attitude de rejet est souvent liée à l'ignorance.

Contenu en allemand

Autres contributions dans Podcast